CIC Logo

Scríbhneoirí nua fógartha ag Portráidí 2020 agus Buaiteoirí Ghradaim Foilsitheoireachta 2020

Scríbhneoirí nua fógartha ag Portráidí 2020 agus Buaiteoirí Ghradaim Foilsitheoireachta 2020 Thursday, 03rd October, 2019

Oireachtas na Gaeilge announced the winners of its annual publishing awards on Tuesday, 1 October at an event in the Mansion House, Dublin. The winners of Gradam Uí Shúileabháin, Gradam Réics Carló and the inaugural Gradam de Bhaldraithe, were announced. Scroll down for full details of this year's awards. 

LeabharComhar also launched eight new profiles of Irish-language writers, which have been added to their ongoing digital  project 'Portráidí na Scríbhneoirí Gaeilge' and they announced the names of eight further contemporary Irish-language writers, which will be added to the website by December 2020. Scroll down for more details. 

Oireachtas na Gaeilge Publishing Awards 2019

Gradam Uí Shúilleabháin is an award for the book of the year for the adult reader, and the 2019 prize was awarded to An Tromdhámh by Feargal Ó Béarra, published by Leabhar Breac.

Gradam Réics Carló is for a young person's title, this year's award went to Áine Ní Ghlinn, a third-time win for Ní Ghlinn, for her title Boscadán, published by Cois Life. 

The inaugural Gradam de Bhaldraithe was given to File ar Fhile, a collection of five books of poetry published by Cois Life which were translated to Irish by Liam Ó Muirthile, Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin, Tomás Mac Síomóin, Gabriel Rosenstock and Ailbhe Ní Ghearbhuigh. 

Gradam Réics Carló 2019 

Gradam Réics Carló 2019 was awarded to Cois Life and Áine Ní Ghlinn for the book Boscadán. 

There are five books on the shortlist for Gradam Réics Carló this year, the book of the year for young readers, the other titles were: 

Spéirling by Orna Ní Choileáin

Nóinín by Máire Zepf 

Beag Bídeach by Sadhbh Devlin

Percy Péacóg by Gemma Breathnach 

Gearrliosta Ghradam de Bhaldraithe

The inaugural Gradam de Bhaldraithe went to File ar Fhile, which was published by Cois Life and features five hardback books of poetry which were translated to Irish by Liam Ó Muirthile, Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin, Tomás Mac Síomóin, Gabriel Rosenstock and Ailbhe Ní Ghearbhuigh.

The other books that were shortlisted for Gradam de Bhaldraithe in 2019 are: 

Bertie Brocach: Bréantas by Alan MacDonald translated to Irish by Marion Ní Shúilleabháin, published by Cló Iar-Chonnacht.

K.O.S.T.K.A. by Przemyslaw Wysoglad SJ, translated to Irisy by Mark Ó Fionnáin and published by Foilseacháin Ábhair Spioradálta. 

Mo Theachín Gan Chuma Gan Chaoi by Julia Donaldson, translated to Irisy by Tadhg Mac Dhonnagáin and published by Futa Fata. 

Asterix agus Troid na dTreabh by R. Goscinny & A. Uderzo, translated to Irish by Gabriel Rosenstock and published by Dalen Éireann.

Charlie agus Monarcha na Seacláide by Roald Dahl, translated to Irish by Niamh Ní Argáin and published by Leabhar Breac. 

Portráidí na Scríbhneoirí Gaeilge

Portráidí na Scríbhneoirí Gaeilge is a multi-annual, multi-stage project. In the first stage of the project, the book and website based on the current archive of portraits has been made available to the public. In the second stage of the project, new additional portraits are being added to the collection on an annual basis, so that the archive of living Irish-language writers can be made as complete as possible over time. A series of eight portraits/eight new writers is added to the collection each year. To this end, the project participants are delighted to also announce the fourth such list of writers, to be added in 2020.

They are:

Áine Durkin: poet, composer agus blogger
Áine Uí Fhoghlú: poet and writer for young people
Declan Collinge: poet and essayist
Gary Hastings: translator
Jackie Mac Donncha: short-story writer, poet, agus novelist
Máirín Ní Dhonnchadha: Professor of Early and Medieval Irish, National University of Ireland, Galway, agus academic writer
Pádraigín Ní Uallacháin: composer and academic writer
Seán Ó Coileáin: former Professor of Modern Irish, University College, Cork, and academic writer

Portraits of these eight writers, along with biographical information and other relevant details, will be prepared in the first six months of 2020 to be published by November of next year, when the material will be launched and the 2021 list will be announced. COMHAR and Foras na Gaeilge are very grateful to the writers and photographers who have agreed to be part of this inspirational project. This is an historic publication; a commemoration of all aspects of Irish cultural heritage, especially that which has been contributed by Irish-language writers.

(Portráidí text taken from Portráidí.ie. Read the original at this link.

An Tromdhámh
An Tromdhámh

Winner of Gradam Uí Shúilleabháin, Book of the Year 2019An Tromdhámh by Feargal Ó Béarra is a retelling of a 14th century satirical tale titled Tromdhámh Guaire. Feargal Ó...

Price: €16.00 Buy Now ›
Mise Áine: An Bhean Istigh
Mise Áine: An Bhean Istigh

Award-winning blogger Áine Durkin has been writing poetry for years, but this is her first published collection and it was awarded the first prize for a debut book in the 2017 Oireachtas na Gaeilge...

€8.00 Now: €7.20 Buy Now ›