CIC Logo

Ag Greadadh Bas sa Reilig - Clapping in the Cemetery (eBook)

By Louis de Paor, Cló Iar-Chonnacht

Reference: 1902420942  

... de Paor is a master of the elegy, the cold-eyed, warm-hearted poem that catches you up when you least expect it.

Robert Verdon, Muse

The poems in this book are drawn from four previous collections in Irish: Próca Solais is Luatha (1988), 30 Dán (1992), Seo. Siúd. Agus Uile (1996), and Corcach agus Dánta Eile (1999), all of which are now out of print. This substantial selection of 59 poems will be welcomed by many who are curious to discover Louis de Paor's poetry, but have been unable to do so until now as these poems have not previously been published in translation in this country.

The foreword by Dr Caoimhín Mac Giolla Léith is a wonderfully succinct introduction to de Paor's poetry. He describes the selection as ‘an energetic, even boisterous, body of poetry, enlivened by a gift for the unexpected but compelling metaphor, ever ready to invite the reader to look afresh at the world of the everyday. These are poems that effectively combine emotion and intellect, sensuousness and insight, humour and melancholy.' Those who are new to de Paor's poetry have much to look forward to in Ag Greadadh Bas sa Reilig - Clapping in the Cemetery. Those who are already familiar with his work can enjoy rediscovering it.

Formats: When you order this eBook you will receive the ePub and Mobi versions. 

Read a sample from the book

Price: €8.34 Price Now: €6.05