CIC Logo

The Tides that Bind / Fánaíocht

By Seán Ó hÉanaigh

Reference: EUCD 002  

Seán Ó hÉanaigh is a singer songwriter and broadcaster from Connemara, and can boast an enviable musical pedigree as the nephew of legendary sean-nós singer Joe Heaney.  He has been playing and composing music since he was young.  He was a member of well-known Galway band Roudledum, which played throughout the west in the 80s.  He then formed the band Éinniú in 1990 and they released an album of the same name in 1992 on the CIC label.

The Tides that Bind/Fánaíocht features traditional songs in English, Irish and Scots Gàidhlig, including Bríd Thomáis Mhurchadha, An Buachaill Caol Ard and The Banks of the Lee, as well as some original compositions.

As well as being a musician, Seán is also a broadcaster and co-presents Sruth na Maoile on RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta with Scottish musician Mary Ann Kennedy showcasing the best in folk and traditional music from Scotland and Ireland. 

This album was recorded in Ardgour in Scotland and other musicians on the album include Mary Ann Kennedy, Allan Henderson, Blair Douglas, Findlay Napier, Chaz Stewart and Signy Jacobsdottir, musicians associated with bands such as Blazing Fiddles, Runrig, Cliar and Capercaillie.  Seán’s son Maidhc Ó hÉanaigh can also be heard on the album.

Track Listing

1.    Buachaill Caol Ard
2.    Nighean Donn a’Chuilein Riabhaigh
3.    A Nobleman’s Wedding
4.    Ag Dul Amach thar Sceirde
5.    Caoinfhionn’s Waltz
6.    I Wish I Had Someone to Love Me
7.    Óró a Stóirín
8.    Times Are Changing
9.    Bóthar An Bhláth Buí
10.    Bríd Thomáis Mhurchadha
11.    Maili Dhonn, Bhòidheach Dhonn
12.    The Banks of the Lee

Price: €14.76